Amsterdam

When you hear the word Amsterdam you think legal drugs, bicycles, red light district, tulips and maybe clogs?. Well you will be happy to know it has all of them and much more. It really is a love/hate destination. I know of many people who went and didn’t enjoy it at all. I however was not one of those people. The purpose of my trip was a music festival so I only got 2 days to venture around.

I stayed in Hostel Meeting Point which is ideally located right in the city centre and a 2 minute walk from Central Station so it is convenient getting to and from the airport. Accommodation, along with everything else is rather expensive in Amsterdam so it is not by any means a cheap weekend away.

AMF

AMF (Amsterdam Music Festival) is an electric dance music event that takes place every October. There were acts such as Axwell / \ Ingrosso, Alesso, Chainsmokers and Hardwell among others. Tickets were €80 for one day but there were packages you could get for the whole weekend and also ticket + accommodation + transport combinations which were good value. This had been on my list of things to go to for while now so I was delighted it lived up to the expectation.

 

Ann Franks House 

anne-frank-house

Ann Frank is now a household name after the publication of her diary which she kept while in hiding from the Nazi’s during World War II. The secret annex where her and her family were confided for two years before their capture and banishment to the concentration camps, is the museum which you visit today.  The tickets can be purchased online for €9 and you can chose a time slot so as to avoid queues.

 

Red Light District

I had envisioned the red light area would be a crude den of vice, somewhat similar to a 19th Century slum (where ever I got this notion). Its not that bad! its fascinating and many of the prostitutes are beautiful (again not what I had expected) but the whole experience is rather strange and somewhat uncomfortable. I would suggest to go at night time and not during the day as the noise and bright lights conceals its reality. I went first on a Pub crawl  ( I am a huge fan of pub crawls) which stops at some bars in the red light district and the second time me and the girls went down to go to one of the infamous sex shows (which is weird but what else are you going to do in Amsterdam?).

Tip. Taking pictures of the woman is forbidden and I have read they will come out for the pictures you have taken or else their security will.

Amsterdam Dungeon

This was a high light of the trip! It costs €22 ( there is a combined ticket you can get that also allows you into Madam Tussauds wax museum which is €30). It is basically an interactive show that brings you on a journey into Amsterdam’s sinister history (torture chamber, pirates etc). It is similar almost to a haunted house. As you move from room to room you will be most of the time terrified but there are moments of comical relief (thank God!). I would highly recommend to do this. It lasts about an hour and a half and is something totally different.

Obviously because my trip was so short I only got to do a fraction of what the city has to offer.

 

Rachel

Travel Quote ♥

x-travel-quotes-to-inspire-your-next-adventure-81

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Rebecca says:

    Very cool you got to attend a concert in Amsterdam (with the Chainsmokers, of all acts!). I was quite ambivalent of my visit to Amsterdam last spring, but I’m glad to see you had a blast. Certainly depends on how you make of it!

    Also, loving the travel blog so far. Looks like you just got yourself another follow!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ya I know two of the girls went before and did not enjoy it at all. thanks a million must check out yours now 😊😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah! I had a virtual Amsterdam trip through your post. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awh that’s great thanks very much 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

