Why to visit Thailand in 7 points

Thailand is a truly mesmerising country which I think should be on everyone’s bucket list of places to see. Whats not to love? from its white sandy beaches, crystal clear waters,  its extensive wildlife, Thai cuisine (which if your like me, good food is a major factor in everything), enthralling uninhabited islands and endless activities, makes it a suitable destination for couples, groups and families alike. I could go on and on as to why you should go but I have narrowed it down to 7 reasons.

1.Maya Bay

It really is that beautiful.

Tip: go early morning or evening if you can to have less crowds. I went on a snorkelling trip so this was the only time I could go.

2.Nightlife

You don’t need to go to the Full Moon to be able to stay up all night partying. Khao San Road in Bangkok, Haad Rin Beach (even minus Full Moon Party) and Chaing Mai were among the best places to go out. They have cheap drinks and most will stay open for as long as you can stay awake.

13439074_10206663213363017_3402198272842741775_n
Famous buckets. Tip: only drink one

3.Under the Sea

4.Temples

wow! The attention to detail that goes into these temples is just unbelievable. These temples do come with rules which you will see signposted or a friendly local will bluntly tell you if you are not following (trust me). Most require you to take off your shoes and all the temples have a dress code (basically don’t arrive from the beach or in shorts).

The above pictures were taken in the Grand Place in Bangkok (500 baht/13 Euro to enter).

My favourite place to visit temples was in Chiang Mai. I went off for the day myself, map in hand and got to visit some beautiful temples. Wat Phra That Doi Suthep requires a 30ish minute taxi journey up into the mountains to reach but is definitely worth it.

Other Temples in the area which I visited

5.Wildlife

I went to a rescue Elephant Sanctuary in Chiang Mai and it was one of the highlights of my trip (I did a whole post on this previously). It aided in recovering Elephants from zoo’s and circuses who had been mistreated.

Monkeys. Although cute, can and will rob you blind. I saw this guy pictured below run up to someones water bottle open it and drink as much as he could and then run away. They are hilarious but you still need to be cautious when around them.

 

6. Zip-lining

In Phuket, I did the Flying Hanuman zip lining course in the Jungle. I cannot rate this enough and the guys who bring you through the course wipe away all nerves (if like me you suggest to do all these things then realise “oh crap I am the one who said to do this”). It was brilliant.

7. View Points

13567262_10206663170161937_6938877906556908531_n
Koh Phi Phi
13438856_10206663207562872_4335630203537675896_n
Koh Nang Yuan – I have never seen clearer water than here

 

And there you have it. My best bits of Thailand in a very short nut shell.

Rachel

Image result for travel quotes

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jenny says:

    Wonderfull experience like I was there

    Like

Leave a Reply

