Elephant Sanctuary Chiang Mai

I know there is an amount of controversy over how Elephants are treated not just in Thailand but all over the world, so maybe I’m a bad egg for saying this, but I absolutely loved my experience at Ran-Tong Elephant Save & Rescue centre in Chiang Mai. Now lets back up a minute, the sanctuary which I visited did not use any chains on the Elephants, they did not make them perform any sort of tricks, and in fact a large majority of the elephants that were there were rescued from circuses and poachers.

Full Day Riding Programme for 2500 baht (65ish Euro)

  • hotel pick up
  • information about the elephants and learn how the mahouts communicate with them
  • feed and meet your elephant
  • trek with elephant through the jungle
  • lunch (where there is question and answers)
  • bring your elephant for a bath in the river

After changing into my fabulous attire for the day and trying to learn the commands (which are a lot harder than you might think) It was time to meet the elephants, ours was Ramboo. I was struck by how gentle they were and all they care about in life is eating- we were best friends immediately.

DSCN0066DSCN0077

While I did really love Ramboo there is nothing more cute than a baby elephant!

DSCN0103

From what I saw at this particular centre there is no cruelty to the animals (I understand they should be left alone in their natural habitat but this simply is not the case) and they are very well cared for, and so they should be, they really are beautiful. I personally would say it is a must when visiting Thailand, it certainly was a highlight of my trip.

elepahntselephants

Rachel 🌍

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh that baby elephant! Convinces me that I should have one in my menagerie one day πŸ˜‰ Thanks for the follow, Rachel. Looking forward to browsing your blog. Cheers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He’s so cute isn’t he? no problem same to yourself 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Wholeheartedly so πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. TeeM says:

    I wanna go on the elephants πŸ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Siyana says:

    Lovely animals, really hope they are not treated like in a circus! ❀

    Liked by 2 people

  4. It looks like both the elephants and the tourists enjoyed the trip and the bath πŸ™‚ I rode an elephant here in India, they were not chained either… πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  5. -Eugenia says:

    I love your story about your experience with the elephants. The baby elephant is beyond cute. Thank you for following BrewNSpew.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. He’s was beautiful!! No problem thanks to you too 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  6. storyspiller says:

    It seems like a wonderful adventure! The elephants are so cute and your smile is really pretty!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Beautiful experience i think ! Loved the trip story ! I love travelling & love to explore the mesmerizing sights ! πŸ™Œ

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Lovely to know about the treatment of these beautiful animals. Great you chose this place not the bad ones.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. I did this in Laos, and it was an amazing experience! They were also rescued elephants and were so loving!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m going to Laos in a few weeks must check out your posts on there 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I dont have any up yet! I spent a week in Luang Prabang and Vientiane-both are incredible, you’re going to love it! The people are so friendly, the nightmarkets are great, and you’ll have to get a few massages there too! Enjoy πŸ™‚

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Great I cannot wait!!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

